Apple released iOS 17.1RC last week, but says it has fixed the flaw that caused privacy settings to be changed without permission.
Addressed an issue where iOS 17.1RC privacy settings were changed without permission.
Some users who updated to iOS 17 last month reported that their iPhone’s existing privacy settings had been changed without their permission, and it became a hot topic.
Mysk, a developer that cares deeply about privacy, uses X to share information.
🚨IMPORTANT UPDATE: After further investigation with several attempts to reproduce the issue, it appears that this may just be a rare edge case and these location settings will no longer be triggered when you upgrade to iOS 17.
We apologize for the error, and we promise to provide you with better results in the future. https://t.co/SSMUioRZtv
– Musk 🇨🇦🇩🇪 (@mysk_co) September 26, 2023
Specifically, even though I turned off “iPhone Analytics,” which shares information with Apple about “Frequently Used Places,” in my iPhone’s privacy settings, when I updated to iOS 17, it turned on without my permission. what does that mean.
Frequently visited places are used to track recently visited places, location data is used for predictive traffic routes, app recommendations, photo app memories, etc. The information collected is used comprehensively, encrypted and stored on your iPhone.
9to5MacAccording to our website, the issue of changing iPhone privacy settings without permission is due to a bug, and Apple has announced that when you move an Apple Watch or device running iOS 17.1RC, the privacy settings in frequently used locations may be reset. A specific bug has been fixed.
Charge your iPhone abroad! Click here for charging adapters that can be used in over 140 countries around the world
“Travel maven. Beer expert. Subtly charming alcohol fan. Internet junkie. Avid bacon scholar.”