May 30, 2024

TechNewsInsight

Technology/Tech News – Get all the latest news on Technology, Gadgets with reviews, prices, features, highlights and specificatio

How to delete your Google account ── Don't forget to prepare in advance, such as downloading WIRED.jp data

How to delete your Google account ── Don't forget to prepare in advance, such as downloading WIRED.jp data

Depending on the amount of data, you may need to wait a day or two before you can download it. Once the download is complete, make sure that you can view the downloaded data and back it up to a safe place before proceeding with deleting your Google Account.

Delete your Google account

Once the account deletion is complete, a confirmation screen like this will be displayed.

Google via David Nield

Once you have secured your data, securely delete your Google account that is no longer needed. You also have the option to delete only part of your Google account. For example, you can delete YouTube and continue using Gmail.

Partial deletion isGoogle account pageIt's also possible to go to Data & Privacy, then Remove Services, and then click the trash icon next to the service you want to remove (Google kindly offers to download data here as well). Once you see a few confirmation screens, you're done.

If you're sure you want to clear everything associated with your Google Account, click Delete Google Account under Data & Privacy. It will then give you a detailed explanation of what will happen if you delete your account, and will also show you examples of data that will actually be deleted (such as photo thumbnails).

Double check that you are not using it to authenticate another account.

It's important to double-check that the Gmail address associated with the Google account you want to delete isn't being used as a login or authentication email address for another account. There are also concerns that users will not be able to log in to other accounts because they cannot access their Gmail inbox.

Finally, if you confirm “Delete Account”, the work is complete. If you need to undelete your account for some reason, simply click Restore Account on the confirmation screen that appears after deleting your account. If you register another address for the reset, the same link will be sent to that address as well.

(Originally published in Silky.com, (Translated by Rikako Takahashi, Edited by Mamiko Nakano)

*Click here for a related article on Google by “WIRED''. Click here for related how-to articles.


Related articles

Woman cleaning emails using a trash bag.
How to free up space in Gmail, Google Photos and Google Drive for free

Google offers 15GB of free storage space for all account users, but many people will likely reach that limit. Here's how to organize emails in your inbox and files in Google Drive to free up space.

One red mouse cursor icon in a stack of white mouse cursor icons
Google to remove “Abandoned Accounts”. A very easy way to avoid “disappearing” data

Google has announced a policy of deleting accounts that have not been used for more than two years. There is only one thing you need to do to preserve your Gmail, Google Photos and other data.


How to delete your Google account ─ Don't forget to prepare in advance, such as downloading data

“WIRED” Magazine Japanese Edition VOL.52
“The future of fashion ah!” On sale now!

Fashion means clothes. It's about knowing what fabric is made of, thinking about the fact that plastic bottles can be turned into yarn, and the difficulties of turning old clothes into fibres. It's about having a serious discussion about how to raise the next generation and what words we should say to them, it's about passing on craftsmanship, gaining insight into fashion and optimism, and getting to know those with extraordinary creativity. Of course, this also means imagining the possibilities of technological expansion, and it also means stepping on the sewing machine yourself. WIRED's first fashion feature in nearly 10 years. Click here for details.

See also  A pop-up window asking users 'reason for closing' has been detected when they try to close OneDrive - GIGAZINE